DeepTech Future Fonds

We are creating
the next generation
of hidden champions.  


Find out more
Our mission

As an anchor investor, we support deep-tech companies on their long-term growth path. 

The DeepTech Future Fund (DTFF) is a new investment fund in the field of high technology (deep tech), financed with funds from the “Zukunftsfonds” and the ERP Special Fund. We invest in the hidden champions of tomorrow, helping to create the next technology-based generation of Germany’s “Mittelstand”. In doing so, we are strengthening the long-term competitiveness of the German economy. A total investment volume of up to EUR 1 billion is earmarked for the DTFF over the next ten years.

Strong technology companies based in Germany 

Our fund is the right partner for entrepreneurs running innovative deep-tech companies whose business models are characterized by a longer development cycle and high financial requirements. We want to offer these companies a long-term perspective in Germany. The DTFF aims to support deep-tech companies in their rapid growth phase while ensuring they retain their independence at the same time. This includes a joint journey to capital market readiness.

Generating value together

We always invest together with private investors who – like us – have a long-term investment approach. Together with these investors and deep-tech entrepreneurs, we aim to create sustainable value and contribute to Germany’s development into a hub for deep-tech companies.

Fund management and network

The DTTF is managed by the High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), which has a 16-year track record in VC investment. Its investment team has built up a wide range of expertise in assessing technologies and companies. HTGF also contributes a very large network including excellent contacts to potential investment partners to the DeepTech Future Fonds. The DTFF is managed by an independent team of experienced investment managers.

For entrepreneurs

Focused on the next generation of hidden champions

As a co-investor, we provide financing to growing deep-tech companies with validated business models that have the potential to become global market leaders. We offer support as a long-term growth partner and anchor investor, helping to lay the foundation for your long-term independence. We invest up to EUR 30 million per company. On top of this, private investors also take up a stake. For deep-tech company entrepreneurs, we are an experienced sparring partner. This is particularly true for companies considering an IPO as a strategic option. The DTFF also finances “buy & build” strategies and offers existing shareholders an exit opportunity. Professionalism, transparent processes and quick decision-making define our day-to-day work as well as technology expertise and transaction experience.

Examples of sectors we invest in:

Industry

Computing

Services

Life sciences

Next Generation

Industry

Industry 4.0 / IoT
Robotics
Sensor Technology
New Energy
E-mobility
Additive Manufacturing
Next Generation

Computing

Artificial Intelligence
Quantum Computing
Blockchain
Data Analytics / Simulations
IT Security
Cloud Infrastructure
Next Generation

Service

Process Automation
Fintech
Smart City
Augmented / Virtual Reality
Logistics
Communications
Next Generation

Life Science

Digital Health
Industrial Biotech
Medtech
Circular Economy / Sustainability
Diagnostics
New Materials
If your deep-tech sector is missing, please contact us!
For investors

Joint investments for sustainable growth and value

We invest together with private investors (e.g. family offices, foundations, private companies and individuals) who have a long-term investment approach and are focused on the sustainable growth of their investments. In doing so, we combine the fundamental values of traditional entrepreneurship with cutting-edge technologies driven by the challenges of tomorrow. Our aim is to build bridges and contribute our expertise in transactions and technology assessment as well as our many years of experience in fund management. We always take a co-investor role alongside private investment partners. A total investment volume of up to EUR 1 billion is earmarked for the DTFF over the next ten years.

million euros of investment
per company
Large, relevant
network
Long-term
growth
years of experience in
fund management

DeepTech Future Fonds –
Building bridges between
long-term-oriented investors,
Germany’s “Mittelstand” and
growing deep-tech companies.

Background information on the DTFF

Q&A

What is the lifetime of the fund?

The fund targets a lifetime of at least 25 years.

What is the investment focus of the DeepTech Future Fonds?

The fund is particularly focused on companies ranging from traditional deep-tech areas such as industry 4.0/IoT, robotics, AI, quantum computing, blockchain and process automation, to companies with a tech-based business model from sectors such as digital health, new energy, fintech, smart cities and certain areas of the biotech industry. In addition, we’re also looking for innovative deep-tech companies that will disrupt other markets.

How much does the DeepTech Future Fonds invest in each company?

As a co-investment fund, the DeepTech Future Fonds only invests together with private investors. Investments made through the DTFF comprise a mix of private (at least 30%) and public (up to 70%) funding. The investment amount is limited to a maximum of EUR 30 million per company over the entire company lifetime. In the first financing round, DTFF invests at least EUR 1 million.

When will the fund start investing?

The DeepTech Future Fonds is up and running. We expect the first investments in the near future.

What kind of equity stake is the DTFF targeting?

The DTFF will always hold a minority stake of less than 25% of voting rights, similar to all other public investment funds.

Who is a suitable co-investor?

In terms of private investment, there are a wide range of potential investors such as evergreen funds, listed investment companies, foundations, family offices, private companies and business angels, who intend to make a long-term investment commitment.

Who takes investment decisions at the DeepTech Future Fonds?

The managing directors of the DeepTech Future Komplementär GmbH make a final decision on the investment that is made “pari-passu” with the private lead investor. They are currently recruited by an executive search firm.

Our team

Your partner and value developer

Our team is committed to building bridges between long-term-oriented investors, Germany’s “Mittelstand” and growing deep-tech companies. We work in various roles to ensure the success of our investments. In our roles as networkers, scientists, or engineers, we rely on our own personal entrepreneurial experience.

Dr. Torsten Löffler
  
Dr. Torsten Löffler
  
Dr. Torsten Löffler is as enthusiastic about corporate strategy as he is about deep tech. The physicist, who holds numerous patents, also founded a measurement technology start-up and held senior positions at a number of technology companies. As part of the High-Tech Gründerfonds hardware team, he was responsible for investments in industrial hardware and software companies, including successful exits. As Principal/Prokurist, Torsten is now a part of the investment team at the DeepTech Future Fonds, which he was actively involved in setting up.
Tobias Faupel
  
Tobias Faupel
  
Tobias Faupel, a former managing director at BASF subsidiaries and medium-sized companies, is in his element when it comes to customers and sales concepts. But being an engineering he is also passionate about deep-tech topics. He has a transaction track record at all stages of a company’s life cycle due to his own start-up experience and roles held at Deutsche Bank and High-Tech Gründerfonds. As Principal/Prokurist, Tobias is now a part of the investment team at the DeepTech Future Fonds, which he was actively involved in setting up.
Julia Seeliger
  
Julia Seeliger
  
Julia Seeliger is passionate about the start-up world. During her time with the High-Tech Gründerfonds life science team, the economist worked closely with tech founders. She now strengthens the investment team at the DeepTech Future Fonds as an analyst.
Charlotte Rümenapp
 
Charlotte Rümenapp
Charlotte joined the DeepTech Future Fund in September 2021 as a Junior Analyst. She graduated with a Bachelor’s degree in Economics and Business Economics from Maastricht University with a semester abroad in Taiwan and has already dealt with the topic of Entrepreneurial Finance during her studies. She gained practical experience in the startup ecosystem through internships at biotech VC b.value AG, at Deutsche Börse Group in the Pre-IPO and Capital Markets department and in the Corporate Finance Department of the startup Africa GreenTec. She loves to spend her free time in the water on her surfboard.
Get in touch with us. We look forward to hearing from you.
Careers at DTFF

Help us in shaping the future of Germany as a deep-tech hub.

Latest news DTFF

Stay up-to-date on the latest developments at DTFF.

DeepTech Future Fonds

Wir schaffen die
nächste Generation
der Hidden Champions.  


mehr erfahren
Unsere Mission

Deep-Tech-Unter­nehmen wollen wir als Anker-Investor eine lang­fristige Wachs­tums­perspek­tive bieten.  

Der DeepTech Future Fonds (DTFF) ist ein neuer Investitions­fonds im Bereich Hoch­technologie (Deep-Tech), der mit Mitteln des Zukunftsfonds und des ERP-Sonder­vermögens finanziert wird. Wir investieren in die Hidden Champions von morgen und tragen dazu bei, die nächste technologie­basierte Generation des deutschen Mittelstands zu schaffen und die Wettbewerbs­fähigkeit der deutschen Wirtschaft langfristig zu stärken. Dafür steht in den kommenden zehn Jahren perspektivisch ein Gesamt­investitions­volumen von bis zu 1 Mrd. Euro zur Verfügung.

Starke Technologie­unternehmen – based in Germany 

Unser Fonds ist der richtige Partner für innovative Deep-Tech-Unter­nehmer:innen, deren Geschäfts­modell einen längerfristigen Entwicklungs­zyklus und einen hohen Finanzbedarf haben. Diesen Unternehmen wollen wir eine dauerhafte Perspektive in Deutschland bieten. Mit dem DTFF ermöglichen wir ihnen schnelles Wachstum bei gleichzeitigem Erhalt der Eigen­ständigkeit und begleiten sie auf ihrem Weg zur Kapital­marktreife.

Gemeinsam Werte schaffen

Wir investieren stets gemeinsam mit privaten Investor:innen, die, wie wir, einen langfristigen Anlagehorizont haben. Mit ihnen und den Deep-Tech-Unter­nehmer:innen möchten wir nachhaltige Werte schaffen und die Zukunft des Deep-Tech-Standorts Deutschland aktiv mitgestalten. 

Fondsmanagement und Netzwerk

Das Management des DTFF übernimmt der High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF). Dieser verfügt über nunmehr 16 Jahre Transaktions­erfahrung. Sein Investment-Team hat über Jahre eine breite Kompetenz bei der Bewertung von Technologien und Unter­nehmen aufgebaut. Darüber hinaus bietet der HTGF ein sehr großes Netzwerk und damit äußerst gute Kontakte zu potenziellen Konsortial­partnern des DeepTech Future Fonds. Der DTFF wird von einem eigenständigen Team aus erfahrenen Investment­manager:innen geführt.

Für Unternehmer:innen

Im Fokus steht die nächste Generation Hidden Champions

Als Co-Investor finanzieren wir wachsende Deep-Tech-Unter­nehmen mit validiertem Geschäfts­modell, die das Potenzial haben, in die Weltspitze aufzusteigen. Für sie sind wir langfristiger Wachstums­partner und Anker-Investor. So schaffen wir die Basis für eine langfristige Eigen­ständigkeit. Wir investieren pro Unter­nehmen bis zu 30 Mio. Euro. Hinzu kommt die Beteiligung der privaten Investoren. Für Deep-Tech-Unter­nehmer:innen sind wir ein kompetenter Sparrings­partner, stehen ihnen jederzeit beratend zur Seite. Dies gilt insbesondere auf dem Weg zur Kapitalmarktreife. Der DTFF finanziert auch „Buy&Build“-Strategien und kann bestehenden Gesell­schaftern im Rahmen eines Anteilskaufs eine Exit-Möglichkeit bieten. Unser Arbeiten ist geprägt von Professionalität und Erfahrung, klaren Prozessen und Entscheidungs­wegen sowie Schnelligkeit, Technologie- und Transaktions­kompetenz.

Wir investieren unter anderem in diese Branchen:

Industry

Computing

Service

Life Science

Next Generation

Industry

Industrie 4.0 / IoT
Robotik
Sensorik
New Energy
eMobility
Additive Manufacturing
Next Generation

Computing

Künstliche Intelligenz
Quantencomputing
Blockchain
Data Analytics / Simulations
IT-Security
Cloud Infrastructure
Next Generation

Service

Prozess-Automatisierung
Fintech
Smart City
Augmented / Virtual Reality
Logistics
Communications
Next Generation

Life Science

Digital Health
Industrial Biotech
Medtech
Circular Economy / Sustainability
Diagnostik
New Materials
Ihr Deep-Tech-Thema fehlt? Nehmen Sie Kontakt zu uns auf.
Für Investor:innen

Gemeinsam investieren für nachhaltiges Wachstum und Werte

Wir investieren  zusammen mit privaten Kapitalgebern wie Family Offices, Stiftungen, Privat­unternehmen und Privat­personen, die als Investoren einen langfristigen Anlagehorizont haben und auf ein nachhaltiges Wachstum ihrer Beteiligungen setzen. Wir verbinden dabei die Grundwerte klassischen Unter­nehmertums mit den hochmodernen Technologien für die Heraus­forderungen von morgen. Dabei verstehen wir uns als Brücken­bauer und bringen unsere Transaktions- und Technologie-Kompetenz sowie unsere jahrelange Erfahrung im Fonds­management ein. Wir agieren stets als Co-Investor privater Beteiligungs­geber. Perspektivisch steht dem DTFF über die kommenden zehn Jahre ein Gesamt­investitions­volumen von bis zu 1 Mrd. Euro zur Verfügung.

Mio. Investition
pro Unternehmen
Großes, relevantes Netzwerk
Langfristiges
Wachstum
Jahre Erfahrung
im Fonds­management

Der DeepTech Future Fonds  – Brücken­bauer zwischen langfristig orientierten Investor:innen, dem deutschen Mittel­stand und wachsenden Deep-Tech-Unternehmen.

Hintergrundinfos zum DTFF

Fragen & Antworten

Wie lange ist die Fondslaufzeit?

Die Laufzeit des Fonds beträgt mindestens 25 Jahre.

Was ist der Investitionsfokus des DeepTech Future Fonds?

Der Fonds richtet sich insbesondere an Unternehmen aus den klassischen Deep-Tech-Bereichen wie z. B. Industry 4.0 / IoT, Robotik, KI, Quanten­computing, Blockchain und Prozess-Automatisierung, aber auch an Unternehmen mit einem technologie­basierten Geschäftsmodell wie zum Beispiel Digital Health, New Energy, Fintech, Smart City und ausgewählte Biotech-Bereiche. Außerdem suchen wir auch innovative Deep-Tech-Unternehmen, mit Technologien und Innovationen, die andere Märkte zukünftig wesentlich beeinflussen können.  

In welcher Höhe investiert der DeepTech Future Fonds in die einzelnen Unternehmen?

Der DeepTech Future Fonds investiert als Co-Investitionsfonds nur gemeinsam mit privaten kooperierenden Beteiligungsgebern. Das private Investment wird durch den DTFF im Verhältnis von mindestens 30 % (Privat) zu bis zu 70 % (Öffentlich) gespiegelt. Dafür ist der Betrag pro Unternehmen über alle Finanzierungsrunden auf 30 Mio. Euro begrenzt. In der ersten Finanzierungsrunde wird der DTFF mindestens 1,0 Mio. Euro investieren. 

Wann sind die ersten Investments geplant?

Der DeepTech Future Fonds ist gegründet und damit bereits handlungsfähig. Wir gehen davon aus, dass erste Investitionen zeitnah erfolgen werden.

Welchen Anteil an den finanzierten Deep-Tech-Unternehmen strebt der DTFF an?

Der DTFF wird stets einen Minderheitsanteil von unter 25 % der Stimmrechte haben, analog zu allen anderen öffentlichen Investitionsfonds.

Wer kann als Co-Investor finanzieren?

Auf privater Seite gibt es ein breites Spektrum an potenziellen Investoren wie Evergreen-Fonds, börsennotierte Beteiligungsgesellschaften, Stiftungen, Family Offices, Privatunternehmen oder Business Angels, die die Möglichkeit haben, längerfristig an einem Investment festzuhalten und im Rahmen von Co-Investitionen durch den DeepTech Future Fonds gespiegelt werden können.

Wer trifft für den DeepTech Future Fonds die Investmententscheidungen?

Die Entscheidung darüber, einen privaten Lead-Investor „pari-passu“ zu spiegeln, wird von der Geschäftsführung des DeepTech Future Fonds, genauer der DeepTech Future Komplementär GmbH getroffen. Die Geschäftsführung wird gerade im Rahmen einer öffentlichen Ausschreibung besetzt.

Unser Team

Ihre Partner und Werte­entwickler

Unser Team lebt den Gedanken des Brücken­bauens zwischen langfristig orientierten Investor:innen, dem deutschen Mittel­stand und wachsenden Deep-Tech-Unternehmen. Als Netzwerker:innen, Wissen­schaftler:innen und Ingenieur:innen arbeiten wir in unter­schiedlichen Rollen für den Erfolg unserer Investments. Dafür bringen wir Gründungs- und Management­erfahrung mit.  

Dr. Torsten Löffler
  
Dr. Torsten Löffler
  
Dr. Torsten Löffler kann sich für Unternehmensstrategie genauso begeistern wie für Deep-Tech. Der Physiker ist an zahlreichen Patenten beteiligt, war Gründer eines Start-ups im Bereich der Messtechnik und in leitender Tätigkeit bei mehreren Technologie-Unternehmen. Als Teil des Hardware-Teams beim High-Tech Gründerfonds hat er Investments und Exits im Bereich industrieller Hard- und Software-Unternehmen verantwortet. Als Prinzipal / Prokurist ist er nun Teil des Investment-Teams beim DeepTech Future Fonds und hatte Gelegenheit, diesen in der Aufbauphase aktiv mitzugestalten.
Tobias Faupel
  
Tobias Faupel
  
Beim Thema Kunden und Vertriebskonzepte ist Tobias Faupel, als ehemaliger Geschäftsführer von Konzerntöchtern der BASF sowie bei mittelständischen Unternehmen, in seinem Element. Aber auch in Deep-Tech-Themen fühlt sich der Diplom-Ingenieur zu Hause. Durch eigene Gründungserfahrung sowie berufliche Stationen bei der Deutschen Bank und beim High-Tech Gründerfonds sammelte er Transaktionserfahrung in sämtlichen Unternehmensphasen. Als Prinzipal / Prokurist ist er nun Teil des Investment-Teams beim DeepTech Future Fonds und hatte Gelegenheit, diesen in der Aufbauphase aktiv mitzugestalten.
Julia Seeliger
  
Julia Seeliger
  
Julia Seeliger ist fasziniert von der Start-up-Welt. Während ihrer Zeit beim Life-Science-Team des High-Tech Gründerfonds arbeitete die Volkswirtin eng mit Technologie-Gründer:innen zusammen und verstärkt jetzt als Analystin das Investment-Team des DeepTech Future Fonds.
Charlotte Rümenapp
 
Charlotte Rümenapp
 
Charlotte ist seit September 2021 als Junior Analystin Teil des HTGF im Investment-Team des DeepTech Future Fonds. Sie hat einen Bachelor der Fachrichtung Economics and Business Economics an der Maastricht University mit einem Auslandssemester in Taiwan abgeschlossen und hat sich bereits im Rahmen ihres Studiums mit dem Thema Entrepreneurial Finance befasst. Praktische Erfahrungen im Startup-Ökosystem konnte sie durch Praktika bei dem Biotech VC b.value AG, im Vorbörslichen Bereich der Deutsche Börse Group und im Corporate Finance Department des Startups Africa GreenTec sammeln. Ihre Freizeit verbringt sie am liebsten im Wasser auf ihrem Surfboard.
Nehmen Sie Kontakt mit uns auf, wir freuen uns, von Ihnen zu hören.
Karriere beim DTFF

Lassen Sie uns gemeinsam die Zukunft des Deep-Tech-Standorts Deutschland aktiv mit­gestalten.  

Neuigkeiten des DTFF

Wir halten Sie gerne auf dem Laufenden über die neusten Entwicklungen beim DTFF.
.